top of page
Search

Today I got cat called...

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

Today I got cat called.

Today I was reminded of my place in this world.

Today they tried to take my power away from me.


Standing at the bus stop in broad daylight in my gym clothes

two men yelled and swore aggressive comments of supposed endearment to me.

I pulled a face and they began to cackle and make kissing sounds and holler at me.


I remembered the mantra told to all women.

Ignore them.

Don’t give them the reaction they want.

Walk away.


Walk to where?! Why must I be the one to leave? When you entered MY SPACE.

Why must I be silent?! Why can’t I defend myself and tell them to FUCK OFF?!


I quickly learnt why.

Just a minute later, after I’d thought they’d driven off

they where on the other side of the road closer to me.

Just as I was about to leave one of the men shouted,

“You’re so fucking hot”

whilst his body was twisted so far out of the van window, to make sure he could spit his words directly at me from his contorted face.

I shouted fuck off and ran across the road as he and his monstrous companion laughed and drove away.


They tried to make me feel uncomfortable.

They succeeded.

They tried to make me angry.

They succeeded.

They tried to take my power.

They failed.

They tried to silence me.

They failed.


108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MYPAS

bottom of page